Also called the "Great Bade Temple", Sanyuan Temple was built during Emperor Qianlong's reign in the Qing era, though the precise year is unknown due to a lack of written records in stone or history books. It was rebuilt in the 12th year of the Taishō era (Japanese colonial period; 1923 CE) and remains an important ancient temple and center of faith in the Bade area. The temple is dedicated to the Three Great Emperor-Officials, who oversee heaven, earth, and water. They are also believed to have command over the "Three Cycles" or "Sanyuan", and are thus known under this name as well. In addition to its historical significance, the temple building also possesses notable artistic workmanship, such as wood carvings by Taoyuan's best craftsman Yeh Chin-wan (1841 - 1930 CE). The hall showcases lively hornless dragon patterns that imbue it with magnificence. The temple also has lifelike stone carvings of characters and plants by master craftsman Chang Huo-kuang (1874 - 1937 CE). From graceful ladies to armored soldiers, the exquisite decorations that Cochin ware master Chen Tien-chi (1906 - 1991 CE) created with impeccable techniques are also awe-striking in their realism, making for must-see features of the temple.
One of the "Four Inadequacies" of the Jiaozhi Pottery Murals by the famous craftsman Chen Tianqi (1906-1991): Shi Chong laments that he has no money
The floor of the main hall is a grindstone floor renovated during the Japanese occupation.
The altar of the three official emperor, the three official emperor who is in charge of Taoism in charge of heaven, earth and water
The former incense burner of Tai Sui Xingjun: The incense burner is engraved with Suan Ni-it is rumored that the dragon has nine sons and the eighth son is Suan Ni, which looks like a lion and is good for fireworks, so it stands in the incense burner.
The roof ridge is called "Xishi Ridge", also known as Xishi Ridge. Since the end of Qing Dynasty, Taiwan temples have been popular to add gorgeous high ridges such as dragons on the roof ridges.
The magnificent wood carvings on both sides of the hall were signed by the famous craftsman Ye Jinwan "Engraved in Eight Blocks from the House of the Xian Zhai, at the age of eighty-three, Ye Jin Wanjian."
The Sanguan in the center of the hall are three statues of gods. The statues are sitting in an imperial costume, wearing an imperial cap, holding a music board with palms together in front of the chest, and the appearances and images of the three are the same.
Tiangong Furnace of Sanyuan Temple: Tiangong Furnace is designed to follow the ancient rituals, "To worship the gods must first respect the sky."
The drum stone (stone drum) engraved with the words "Huian Zhang Huoguang" is placed in front of the Sanchuan Gate and serves as a stone foundation, elevates and bears the gate post, prevents the gate post from shaking or getting wet, and is used as a door mortar to stabilize the door shaft