The Xiyun Temple in Wugu is dedicated to worship of the Buddhist bodhisattva Guanyin (Avalokiteśvara). Also referred to as Xiyun Hill, Guishan Hill, and Outer Hill, the temple is located in the foothills overlooking the Tamsui River and is surrounded by gorgeous scenery. Legend has it that in the 17th year of Emperor Qianlong's reign in the Qing era (1752 CE), a monk named Sheng-yuan from the Yongquan Temple in Gushan Mountain of Fuzhou, Fujian undertook spiritual practice where the temple stands today. In the 25th year of Emperor Qianlong's reign (1760 CE), Hu Cho-yu and Lin Tso-che—gongsheng (scholarship awardees of the Imperial Academy) from Yongding, Fujian—donated land to build this temple. The construction of Xiyun Temple bears witness to the settlement of Hakka people in Wugu. The main structure of Wugu's Xiyun Temple has a sanheyuan layout with one hall and two side wings, which is typical of traditional middle-sized Chinese temples. Wugu's Xiyun Temple still houses several stone Buddha statues from the Saigoku Kannon Pilgrimage—a testament to the religious and cultural exchange between Taiwanese and Japanese Buddhism during the era of Japanese rule.
The main structure of Wugu's Xiyun Temple has a sanheyuan layout with one hall and two side wings.
Fish tangs in the main hall
The right guardian dragon serves as a merit hall for placing the gods’ tablets
The Qing Dynasty stele standing outdoors contains the names of the donors who have been rebuilt
The new bone tower built after the war
Visiting the stone buddhas at the "Thirty-three Guanyin Sacred Sites of the Western Kingdom" on the left of the temple
The stone pillars placed outside the main hall are the food platforms for monks to give food every day.
After the war, the water passage was changed to a space for worshipping gods.
The Xiyun Temple is dedicated to worship of the Buddhist bodhisattva Guanyin (Avalokiteśvara).